Sarkodie Tops VGMA 2020 Nominations


Rapper Sarkodie leads nominations for the 21st edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Award (VGMA) to further stamp his authority in Ghana’s music scene as one of the best.

Nominations for this year’s award ceremony were officially released on Saturday with a launch ceremony at the Labadi Beach Hotel in Accra ‒ with performances from Dada Hafco, Fameye and MOG.

The main award ceremony is scheduled for May 2 at the Grand Arena of the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC). Prior to that, there would be a nominees’ jam at Koforidua on April 4 and a music business seminar to discuss prospects in the music industry at the Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel on Thursday, April 30, 2020.

Sarkodie got nominations in 10 categories, including artiste of the year, in which he is competing with equally hardworking artistes such as Diana Hamilton, Kofi Kinaata, Kuami Eugene and Medikal.

He also got nods in rapper of the year, hiplife/hip-hop artiste of the year, hip-hop song of the year, Vodafone most popular song of the year and highlife song of the year with the song ‘Saara’ which features Efya.

His ‘Ofeets Ↄ’ song with Prince Bright was also captured in hiplife song of the year and his ‘Black Love’ album made it to album of the year, competing with King Promise, Kwesi Arthur, Okyeame Kwame, Kidi, Joe Mettle and Nacee.

 The other categories are best collaboration of the year and best international collaboration.

Sarkodie’s works cut across hiplife, highlife, hip-hop and rap which helped him to receive double nominations under a category.

Kwesi Arthur came close with nine nominations, while Medikal and Kidi also had eight nods each. Kuami Eugene also had seven nominations. Dope Nation and Diana Hamilton had five nominations each to indicate how hard they have worked in 2019. Other nominees include Mr. Eazi, GuiltyBeatz, King Promise, Worlasi, Kofi Mole and more. 

Speaking at the ceremony, Chief Executive Officer of Charterhouse, Theresa Ayoade, who congratulated all nominees, said she was amazed by the number of new artistes who entered the award this year.

She revealed that this year’s event would be held under the theme: ‘Music First’.

“Sometimes we get carried away by the drama that surrounds the industry and then we forget the reason why we are here in the first place. So this time, we just want to draw your attention back to the subject matter and why all this. It is because of the music and our love for it. No matter the distractions, let’s stay focused on music first. Let’s protect the music.”

She also assured patrons of utmost security this year.

“We wish to assure our patrons that your safety is our utmost priority and we working hand in hand with our sponsors Vodafone Ghana and the nation’s security apparatus to put robust  afety and security plan to ensure your security,” she indicated.

The nominations release event was attended by a number of personalities like Adina, Sista Afia, Mark Okraku Mantey, Bessa Simons, Amandzeba Nat Brew and more.

Checkout the list below.

Hip-life song of the Year
Quamina MP ft. Medikal – Amanfour Girls
Guru ft Kweysi Swat – Wobete
Sarkodie ft prince bright- Oofeetso
Medikal- Omo Ada
Sista afia ft Quamina MP and Medikal- Weather

High-Life Song of the Year
King Promise ft Kojo Antwi- Bra
Sarkodie ft Efya -Saara
Dada Hafco ft Fameye -Our Story
Kofi Kinata – Things Fall Apart
Kuami Eugene – Obiaato
Sista Afia ft Kelvenboy – Corner Corner
Adina – Sika
Fameye ft Kuami Eugene, Medikal and Article Wan -Notin A Get Remix

Gospel Song of the Year
Celestine Donkor ft Nhyiraba Gideon- Agbebolo
Mog Music- Hallelujah
Joe Mettle- Mehia Wo Yesu
Diana Hamilton – W’asem
Joyce Blessing -Repent
Nacee- Mpaebo

Afrobeat Song of the Year
EL ft AI -Adwuma
King Promise – Comando
Kelvenboy ft Joey B- Mea
Darkovibes ft Kidi – Bless Me
Kwesi Arthur ft Mr Eazi- Nobody
Kidi ft Kwesi Arthur- Mr Badman
Dopenation- Zanku
Guilty Beats ft Mr Eazi and Kwesi Arthur-Pilolo
Wendy Shay -All for you

Reggae/ Dancehall Song of the Year
Ras Kuku- Me Mpaebo
J. Derobie- Poverty
Epixode -Resolution
AK Songstress – Stamina
Jupitar- Top Shella
Article Wan- Reggae

Hip-Pop Song of the Year
Kofi Mole- Don’t be late
Sarkodie- Bleeding
Kwaw Kese ft Mr Eazi, Skonti, Medikal and Sarkodie -Dondo Remix
Medikal ft Kofi Mole and Joey B- Drip
Joey B ft Kwesi Arthur and Sarkodie- La Familia
Eno Barony ft Kofi Mole- Mind your business
Kwesi Arthur- Thoughts of King Arthur 5
Strongman ft Manifest – Up and Down

Reggae/ Dancehall Artiste of the Year
J Derobie
Ras Kuku
AK Songstress

Best Video of the Year
Cina Soul -Killi Mi (Directed by Gene Adu)
RJZ- Bye Bye (Directed by Henry Akrong)
Medikal ft Kofi Mole and Joey B- Drip (Directed by Yaw Skyface)
Becca ft Tiya Savage- Yes I do (AJE Filmworks)
Kuami Eugene – Obiaato (Directed by REX)
Celestine Donkor ft Nhyiraba Gideon- Agbebolo (Directed by Abass)
EL ft FALZ, Joey B -Ehua (Directed by Yaw Skyface)
Joey B ft Kwesi Arthur- La Familia (Directed Babs Direction)
Zeetm ft Fancy Gadam- Totori (Directed by Babs Direction)
Epixode-Wahala Dey (Directed by Snares films)

Gospel Artiste of the Year
Celestine Donkor
Joe Mettle
Joyce Blessing
Diana Hamilton
Akesse Brempong

Highlife Artiste of the Year
King Promise
Kuami Eugene
Dada Hafco
Kofi Kinaata

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year
J. Derobie
AK Songstress
Ras Kuuku

Best Video of the Year
Killi Mi by Cina Soul
Agbebolo by Celestine Donkor
Bye Bye by RJZ
Ehua by EL
La Familia by Joey B
Yes I Do by Becca
Drip by Medikal
Obiaato by Kuami Eugene
Totori by ZeeTM
Wahala Dey by Epixode

Instrumentalist of the Year
Emmanuel Bludo
Joshua Moszi
Steve Bedi
Mizter Okyere
Affreh Junior
Anthony Ansah (Khalisax)

Songwriter of the Year
Bra by King Promise
Sanbra by Akwaboah
Things Fall Apart by Kofi Kinaata
W’asem by Diana Hamilton
Oh Me by Lamisi
Wahala Dey by Epixode

Record of the Year
Aka Kee Moko by Trigmatic
Blema Tesaa by Perez Muzik
Bolgatanga by Okyeame Kwame
Oh Me by Lamisi
Sanbra by Akwaboah
Woezor by Worlasi
Dzigbordi by Lord Paper

Producer of the Year
Guilty Beats
Two Bars
Unkle Beats
Willis Beats

Hiplife/Hip-Hop Artiste of the Year
Kofi Mole
Quamina MP
Joey B
Kwesi Arthur

Male Vocalist of the Year
Joe Mettle
Kuami Eugene
King Promise
MOG Music

Female Vocalist of the Year
Efe Grace
Celestine Donkor

Best Group of the Year
Kwan Pa
Bethel Revival Choir
La Meme Gang

Best Collaboration of the Year
Amanfuor Girls by Quamina MP
Bra by King Promise
Oofeetso by Sarkodie
Noting I Get Remix by Fameye
Ohemaa by Kuami Eugene
Mea by Kelvynboy
Mr Badman by KiDi
Saara by Sarkodie

Best Rapper of the Year
Eno Barony
Kwesi Arthur

African Artiste of the Year
Big Trill
Sho Madjozi
Mercy Chinwo

International Collaboration of the Year
Cinderella by KiDi ft Mayorkum & Peruzzi
Lucky by Sarkodie ft Rudebwoy
Yes I Do by Becca ft Tiwa Savage
Father by Medikal ft Davido
Pilolo by Guilty Beats ft Mr Eazi & Kwesi Arthur
Sugar Daddy by KiDi ft Mr Eazi
Nobody by Kwesi Arthur ft Mr. Eazi
Toto Remix by Edem ft Davido

Album of the Year
King Promise – As Promised
Okyeame Kwame – Made In Ghana
Joe Mettle – Wind of Revival
KiDi – Sugar
Sarkodie – Black Love
Nacee – Time With God
Kwesi Arthur – Live From Nkrumah Krom II

Most Popular Song of the Year
Quamina MP – Amanfour Girls
Sarkodie – Oofeetso
Medikal – Omo Ada
Dope Nation – Zanku
Agbebolo – Celestine Donkor
Kuami Eugene – Obiaato
Kofi Kinaata – Things Fall Apart
Diana Hamilton – W’asem
Kwesi Arthur – Nobody
Fameye – Nothing I Get Remix
KiDi – Mr Badman

Best New Artiste of the Year
Lord Paper
Kofi Mole
MOG Music

Artiste of the Year
Kuami Eugene
Kofi Kinaata
Diana Hamilton


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here